Communication for Sustainable Development

Clarkson professor named Fulbright Scholar in South Korea

Clarkson University Associate Professor of Political Science Christopher C. Robinson has been named a Fulbright Scholar to the Political Science Department at Sogang University in Seoul, South Korea, for the fall semester.

He will have research and teaching duties, offering courses in human rights and environmental political theory.

Robinson will use the environmental movement in Korea as a case study for a book he is writing. The Politics of Sustainability: Ecological Economics and Radical Democracy addresses the problem of how to achieve a sustainable political economy through nonviolent, democratic organization and action.

Robinson will return to the United States in January and spend the spring semester as a scholar-in-residence at the Gund Institute at the University of Vermont and the Portland State Institute for Sustainable Solutions in Oregon.

The Fulbright Program, the U.S. Government's flagship international exchange program, is designed to increase mutual understanding between the people of the United States and people of other countries. It promotes leadership development through learning and international cooperation.

The Fulbright Program operates in more than 155 countries worldwide and has provided approximately 300,000 participants -- chosen for their academic merit and leadership potential -- with the opportunity to study, teach or conduct research in each others' countries and exchange ideas. Approximately 7,500 grants are awarded annually.

The program was established by Congress in 1946 under legislation introduced by the late Senator J. William Fulbright of Arkansas. It is sponsored by the Bureau of Educational and Cultural Affairs of the U.S. Department of State, which works with private non-profit organizations in the United States and with U.S. embassies and binational Fulbright Commissions abroad to administer the Program. Policy guidelines are established by the J. William Fulbright Foreign Scholarship Board, which also selects the recipients of Fulbright awards.


Solutions for Small Business